Disenchanted by life, I beckoned for escape

after attempting to fly on the same gust of wind that lifted my peers wings

I became jealous, and full of self pity that it wouldn’t carry me away too

The process seemed methodical; down, left, right, and then up

Why wasn’t it working for me? Moving seemed so easy for them

Questions only led to more questions,  and eventually to mental anguish

The games the mind can play are wicked, and intelligent

I started to believe the sharp jabs, what a foolish thing to do

In my mental confusion an immoral hand greeted me kindly

It ushered me into an unforgiving land

A place of darkness, and yet I stayed unsure of what to do

I felt my feet becoming less, and less grounded

The firm roots I had planted, seemed to lift and hold me down no more

I knew better than to let myself go, but the carefree feeling felt so easy..

Letting go was a twisted, erotic experience

I was floating higher, and higher

Realizing I was the only one who could pull myself back down I panicked

I saw a vision of the end, I had to choose

I could barley see the ones I loved below me

A sudden moment of clarity washed over my vision

How could I let this happen to myself! I was better than this!

Freighted to go back I looked the other way, I could.. I could just go..

A voice entered my ear and whispered “Let go”

I said “No, i’m scared”

Is said “Let go”

I let go

wintermoon

Greeted by all those who love me. They cheered as I came back down. I remembered who I was once again.

One thought on “The Mind Plays Intelligent Games

Leave a comment